If Jesus is not God

It is of great importance that we should practically know Jesus as He is–that we should be able to repose on Him in all the reality of His divine nature.

If Jesus is God–then I must repose on Him as God; and this, not merely for the correctness of my beliefs–but for the strengthening of my faith, and for the encouragement of my soul in all the varieties of its experience and warfare.

If Jesus is not God–then He could not have loved me from everlasting–and I then have no warrant that He either can, or will, love me forever.

If Jesus is not God–then He has neither rendered an infinite obedience, nor made a perfect atonement for sins, on my behalf.

If Jesus is not God–then my faith is vain, and I am yet in my sins.

If Jesus is not God–then I cannot look to Him for unfailing guidance, wisdom or power.

If Jesus is not God–then His grace is not sufficient for me–nor is His strength made perfect in my weakness.

But my repose is this, that Jesus is God–that “in Him dwells all the fullness of the Godhead bodily”–and that “From the fullness of His grace, I have received one gracious blessing after another!”

– George Mylne

Leave a Reply

