Devotional – John 14

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.”

As Jesus prepared to complete his ministry and return to his place with the Father he gave these words of encouragement to his disciples. These are words of promise and serve to comfort the hearts of not only those disciples whom Jesus had with him in that moment, but for all of Jesus’ disciples from that time to the day he returns. The hope that Jesus gives us is not found in wealth, abundance, or carefree life in the here and now, but he speaks of our life in the life after. He has us put our hope in the comfort we will receive from dwelling with the Father and in is coming return when he will come again to bring us to that dwelling place where you and I and Christ will be for all of eternity. Jesus gives us these words of hope so that we don’t bind our hearts to the things of this world, but that our hearts would be bound in heaven where he is now and where we will be in our death or when he returns. So don’t let your hearts be troubled in this life, but set your affections on Christ, treasure Christ, find in him your eternal hope for he has made a promise to all his disciples and he will fulfill it.

Leave a Reply

